The chakras: Signs that your relationships or health are suffering because of blocked chakras


Chakra literally means a wheel. When your chakras are not aligned or blocked, your physical and emotional health suffers. Here are mental and physical symptoms of a blockage.

As you are busy going about your day analyzing, thinking, and worrying your way through the endless tasks, your body gets attuned to a different rhythm. Your physical body is a storehouse of energy (prana or life energy) and chakras are the energy centers of your being. These centers generate physical, emotional, and spiritual energy to keep you going.

Chakras are the energy centers of your being (Pixabay)
Chakras are the energy centers of your being (Pixabay)

There are many research institutes that are studying the human energy system. They aim to bridge the gap between the ancient wisdom of the east with modern findings that explain truths in scientific terms.

The human energy system (Pixabay)
The human energy system (Pixabay)

Apart from research units in universities, private organizations focus on understanding chakras. For example, the International Association for Religion and Parapsychology.

What are chakras?

Chakras are energy centers or portals in the human energy field. They are spots along the spine of the human body,  located at distinct locations from the head to the base of the spine. Being portals of energy, they are considered to be live, activated centers that whirl like a wheel, either generating energy or draining out energy (when blocked).

There are two ways for life energy to flow in the system.

– It flows up and down along the spine connecting the chakras to each other.

– It flows horizontally taking in and giving out energy from and to the cosmos.

Chakras are energy centers or portals (Pixabay)
Chakras are energy centers or portals (Pixabay)

The seven chakras

* Crown Chakra – top of the head, represented by a white light

* Third Eye Chakra – between the eyebrows, represented by a violet light

* Throat Chakra – at the base of the throat, represented by a blue light

* Heart Chakra – at the center of the chest – represented by a green light

* Solar Plexus Chakra – at the abdomen, represented by a yellow light

* Sacral Chakra – at the reproductive organs, represented by an orange light

* Root Chakra – at the base of the spine, represented by a red light

When these chakras as in harmony and flowing naturally, you feel a sense of wellbeing. You feel energetic, strong, relaxed, and grounded. When one or more of the chakras are blocked, you still function, but it feels like you are dragging yourself through the day, barely managing to survive.

Each chakra has a function (Pixabay)
Each chakra has a function (Pixabay)

Here are general symptoms when your chakras are not aligned or blocked

Insomnia or difficulty falling asleep

Difficulty in staying focused or concentrating

Feeling vulnerable emotionally and spiritually

Low physical immunity and tolerance to pain

Inability to express oneself

Lack of drive or motivation

Feeling cut off from others

A sense of void at the middle of the chest

Inability to set and meet goals

Trouble in relationships

Symptoms of misaligned chakras (Pixabay)
Symptoms of misaligned chakras (Pixabay)

Here is how you can identify a block in a specific chakra:

1. Crown Chakra

This chakra is located on the seat of the head and is called the thousand-petalled lotus. It connects us to universal consciousness and makes us feel we are all one.

Symptoms of a block: Constantly anxious, fearful about survival, packing a sense of security ungrounded, feeling that you don’t belong anywhere, lacking imagination. Physical symptoms include pain or medical issues with bones, feet, legs, colon, elimination, and weight.

Crown chakra (Pixabay)
Crown chakra (Pixabay)

2. Third-Eye Chakra

This is associated with inner wisdom, intuition, understanding, and imagination.

Symptoms of a block: Lack of emotional warmth and affection, cold or cut off from emotions, low energy, low sexual drive, inability to feel joy, or hypersensitive to emotions, overly sexual, constant guilt. Physical symptoms include reproductive issues and urinary infections.

The third-eye chakra (Pixabay)
The third-eye chakra (Pixabay)

3. Throat Chakra

This is related with our ability to communicate with authenticity and be present while listening to others.

Symptoms of a block: Poor self-esteem, inability to meet goals or manifest desires, shame, self-doubt, and/or misuse of power, money, resources. Physical problems include issues with digestion, hypertension, fatigue, adrenals, diabetes, and allergies.

The throat chakra (Pixabay)
The throat chakra (Pixabay)

4. Heart Chakra

It is associated with our feelings of love, compassion, forgiveness, connection, and intuitive understanding. This chakra is especially important because it is the connecting center between the upper and lower chakras.

Symptoms of a block: A sense of void or loneliness, feeling alienated, cannot feel a part of the group, lack of emotional fulfillment, struggling to receive and give love, lack of empathy, abusive or wounding relationships unhealed emotional pain. Physical symptoms include problems with heart or lungs and asthma.

The heart chakra represents our ability to feel a sense of belonging (Pixabay)
The heart chakra represents our ability to feel a sense of belonging (Pixabay)

5. Solar-Plexus Chakra

This is the center of inspiration, personal power, motivation, determination, and capacity to manifest what we want. It controls digestion and regulates the body’s ability to transform nutrients into energy for the body. When you work on practicing self-discipline and balancing it with self-compassion, this center gets recharged.

Symptoms of a block: Difficulty in self-expression, lacking courage and strength to own and express one’s truth, writer’s block or lacking inspiration for creativity, or struggles with manipulation or deception of others. Physical symptoms include pain or tension in the neck and shoulders and thyroid concerns.

6. Sacral Chakra

This is the center of sexuality, desire, creativity, joy, playfulness, and abundance.

Symptoms of a block: Difficulty concentrating, lack of imagination/vision, lack of concentration, confusion, delusions, nightmares, can’t see the bigger picture. Physical symptoms include problems with vision and frequent headaches.

The sacral chakra relates to playfulness and joy (Pixabay)
The sacral chakra relates to playfulness and joy (Pixabay)

7. Root Chakra

This is the center related to our basic survival needs (food, water, shelter, air, etc.) and our physical reality that relates to nature.

Symptoms of a block: Feeling unrooted or spacy, indecisive, impractical, can’t complete things that were started, depression, meaninglessness, etc. Medical symptoms include problems with the brain, cognition, and mental illnesses.

The root chakra relates to our survival (Pixabay)